Mytheresa.com Named Retailer Of The Year By Footwear News

The team at Mytheresa.com is taking home the Retailer of the Year honor at the 29th annual FN Achievement Awards on Dec. 2.

The Munich, Germany-based e-commerce site has become one of the most buzzed-about luxury fashion players this year. The exclusively women’s website was acquired by fashion powerhouse Neiman Marcus Group last September and has quickly established its place among the firm’s other retail banners, including Bergdorf Goodman.

With Neiman Marcus’ support, My Theresa now has the resources to pursue major expansion, yet it remains focused on measured growth. The company prides itself on its selective edit of fashion, choosing the top styles from the runway with a specific and very European point-of-view.

With a background in the boutique fashion business (My Theresa’s brick-and-mortar store was established in Munich in 1987), the firm seems to have a philosophy that more isn’t necessarily a good thing when it comes to helping the busy, educated luxury shopper actually find what she wants online.

Rogier Vivier Mytheresa.com New York Fashion Week
Bruno Frisoni, Jeanne Damas, Brooke Shields & My Theresa’s Justin O’Shea
CREDIT: Billy Farrell/BFA.

Head buyer Justin O’Shea has been crucial to establishing the site’s unique curation, bringing his experienced eye to the selection and working closely with designers to put a premium on exclusive styles and collaborations. The retailer makes sure to keep the number of brands tight and work with designers like Bruno Frisoni of Roger Vivier, Gianvito Rossi, Aquazzura and more on special one-off styles for the site.

“Shoes are such a specific kind of fashion. Shoes are like gold: they should be about passion, love and desire,” said O’Shea. “[I ask myself:] Is this a shoe brand that offers that feeling? If so, then is it unique? Is it different to what I have already? Then if it fills those boxes, it’s the brand for us.”

Now in its 29th year, the FN Achievement Awards honor the best and brightest in the footwear world. Over the years, legendary designers such as Manolo Blahnik, Christian Louboutin and Giuseppe Zanotti have graced the stage, as have executives from top brands such as Nike, Adidas, Prada and Lanvin. Previous Retailer of the Year winners have included Level Shoe District, Kurt Geiger, Macy’s and Selfridges.

Access exclusive content