Footwear News to Honor 15

NEW YORK — Despite the challenging economy, this year’s Footwear News Achievement Award winners have managed to shine with bold strategies.

Twelve executives, companies, retailers, brands and designers, and three Hall of Fame inductees, will be honored at the FFANY-sponsored 23rd annual awards on Dec. 1 at the Four Seasons Restaurant in New York. For the first time, the event will be an invitation-only cocktail affair.

Zappos.com CEO Tony Hsieh has been named Person of the Year for being one of the industry’s most visible — and talked about — CEOs. Hsieh’s out-of-the-box leadership style was a huge factor in Amazon.com’s move to buy Zappos.

Steven Madden Ltd., which has been a star performer in the tough times, will take home the Company of the Year award for the second time in three years. (The company also nabbed the honor in 2001.)

Giuseppe Zanotti, who continued to produce hit-making collections and strike high-profile designer partnerships, will receive the Designer of the Year honor.

Other winners include Retailer of the Year Kohl’s; E-tailer of the Year Gilt Groupe; Marketer of the Year Iconix Brand Group Inc.; Brands of the Year Sam Edelman and Sperry Top-Sider; and Launches of the Year Skechers Shape Ups, Tabitha Simmons and Florsheim by Duckie Brown. The Vivian Infantino Emerging Talent award, which honors FN’s late fashion director, will be given to designer Alexandre Birman.

FN also will induct three people into its Hall of Fame: Foot Locker Chairman Matt Serra; Manolo Blahnik USA President George Malkemus; and the late analyst John Shanley.

Access exclusive content