Fashion Remembers Legendary Designer Sonia Rykiel

Sonia Rykiel
Sonia Rykiel on the runway in 2002.
REX Shutterstock.

Fashion is remembering legendary Parisian designer Sonia Rykiel today. The iconic women’s designer died this morning in Paris at age 86 after a long battle with Parkinson’s disease.

Rykiel’s impact in fashion was enormous. When she landed in Paris in the 1960s, she ushered in an aesthetic that embraced femininity, strength and comfort. She embraced the working-woman image long before others and outfitted her in easy knitwear that flattered the body and hugged curves. She played with prints and words on her pieces. Rykiel’s shoes were as instantly recognizable as her knitwear for using color and keeping shapes interesting.

Rykiel’s peers have taken to social media today to remember the red-headed, spirited force in fashion.

I L❤️ED S🌹NIA…I will always M‼️SS H💃R #soniarykiel #alberandamigos #alberelbaz #rip🙏

A post shared by Alber Elbaz (@alberelbaz8) on

Remembering #SoniaRykiel ❤️

A post shared by Cindy Crawford (@cindycrawford) on

Rip ✨✨✨@soniarykiel #SoniaRykiel

A post shared by Chloe Gosselin (@chloegosselin) on

RIP Sonia. A true legend. -J+L

A post shared by Proenza Schouler (@proenzaschouler) on

Au Revoir @soniarykiel The passing of a fashion Icon. #soniarykiel #RIP #fashion #icon @juliedelibran

A post shared by brian_atwood (@brian_atwood) on

Legend. RIP and in Stripes @soniarykiel

A post shared by Karla Welch (@karlawelchstylist) on

Une grande dame de la mode qui, disait-elle, ne savait rien faire du tout. #soniarykiel

A post shared by Boutique Vestida & Co (@boutiquevestida) on

SONYA 4Ever 💜 #sonyarykiel

A post shared by Leith Clark (@leithclark) on

Notre Gradiva ! Briller pour se faire adorer ! Elle brillera toujours ✨💫❤️❤️❤️ @nathalierykiel

A post shared by LADUREE PARIS OFFICIEL (@maisonladuree) on